Matthew Hanover

Matthew Hanover is a forty-something marketing professional who also writes contemporary fiction novels on the side.

Inspired by the writing of Nick Hornby and Jonathan Tropper, he wrote his first novel, ‘Not Famous’ back in 2011. It took seven years to complete the first draft, and it was finally published in 2019. His second novel, ‘Not Dressed’ took much less time to complete, and was published within a year of being started.

    The Wallflowers Series

    A romantic comedy series about shy and quirky young women and the insecure men who fall for them.

    Matthew Hanover’s novel can be broadly described as “lad-lit” which is a genre of fiction written from the male perspective and focuses on their personal lives and written in a humorous, confessional style.

    The Wallflowers series is perfect for fans of Nick Hornby, Mike Gayle, Jonathan Tropper, and chick-lit novels. All novels in the series take place in the same universe but focus on different characters, so they can be read in any order.

    News from Matthew Hanover…

    I Tried LivingWriter… Will it Replace Scrivener?

    By accident, I discovered a writing app pitched as the best alternative to Scrivener called LivingWriter. I’ve been using Scrivener for a while now, and after being initially overwhelmed by all its features, I found myself liking the aspects of the…

    Keep reading

    ‘Not Awkward’ is coming on August 24!

    Okay, well, 2020 was an interesting year. Soon after the release of my second novel, Not Dressed, there was a global pandemic, and many of us went in lockdown. While this sounds like prime opportunity to do a lot of writing,…

    Keep reading

    Not Famous… Two Years Later

    Two years ago today, my first novel, Not Famous, was published. It’s hard to even think about it as a two-year-old novel when it actually took more than seven years to complete from first inception to publication. But, yes, it has…

    Keep reading